



BUTCH LENTON MEMORIAL BUSH COUNCIL INNOVATION AWARD

At the 2017 LGAQ Annual Conference, Peak Services and LGAQ launched the Butch Lenton Memorial Bush Council Innovation Award. The award is designed to recognise innovation in bush councils and play tribute to Butch's legacy and the contribution he made to the Winton community and local government in Queensland.

The award will be presented at the LGAQ Annual Conference each year and showcased at the Bush Councils Convention, held every two years.

The inaugural award in 2018, was won by Brett Walsh from Barcaldine Regional Council for a study tour of the United States of America, to discover how small rural communities are adopting smart growth opportunities to ensure their future survival, then translating the findings into opportunities for western Queensland communities.

In 2019, the winner of the award was Cr Kathy Duff from South Burnett Regional Council for the Proston Community Revival Project. Kathy has a strong belief in supporting country towns and as a Proston local and councillor she wanted to use the bursary to refurbish the shops in Proston's main street to attract new businesses and community shops to the town.

We are seeking nominations for a council group or individuals who would like to undertake an activity which demonstrates innovation.

The successful application will be awarded with a bursary of \$10,000 which will go towards the nominated innovative activity. The nominations will be judged by the committee made up of; LGAQ Chief Executive Officer Greg Hallam AM, Peak Services Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Brent Reeman, Richmond Shire Council Mayor John Wharton AM and Hinchinbrook Shire Council Chief Executive Officer Alan Rayment.

Applications open on 30 June 2020

Nominations close on 31 August 2020







Nominee:	
Name of council:	
Telephone:	
Address:	
Email:	
Nominated by:	
Name/s:	
Name of council:	
Telephone:	
Address:	
Email:	
Signed:	Date:





Please list the activity you would like to nominate: (Please attach further pages as required to support your nomination)

Please outline how you/your council will use the bursary funding should you win? (please attach further pages as required to support your nomination)

wearepeak.com.au |hello@wearepeak.com.au | 07 3000 2148





Nominations are open to the following councils:

- Balonne Shire Council
- Banana Shire Council
- Barcaldine Shire Council
- Barcoo Shire Council
- Blackall-Tambo Shire Council
- Boulia Shire Council
- Bulloo Shire Council
- Burke shire Council
- Carpentaria Shire Councils
- Charter Towers Regional Council
- Cloncurry Shire Council
- Croydon Shire Council
- Cook Shire Council
- Diamantina Shire Council
- Ethridge Shire Council
- Flinders Shire Council

- Goondiwindi Regional Council
- Isaac Regional Council
- Longreach Regional Council
- Maranoa Regional Council
- Mareeba Shire Council
- McKinlay Shire Council
- Murweh Shire Council
- North Burnett Regional Council
- Paroo Shire Council
- Quilpie Shire Council
- Richmond Shire Council
- South Burnett Regional Council
- Southern Downs Regional Council
- Winton Shire Council





The judging panel's decision on the winner of the bursary is final.

If one of the judging committee members are affiliated with a nomination (council) they will excuse themselves from judging that nomination.

Nominations must be received by the closing date of 31 August 2020.

The bursary will be awarded at the LGAQ Annual Conference to be held from 19-21 October 2020 at the Gold Coast Convention Centre.

Please submit your applications via email to ssakzewski@wearepeak.com.au.

For any queries about the award, please contact:

Simone Sakzewski Marketing Manager Peak Services (07) 3000 2137 <u>ssakzewski@wearepeak.com.au</u>